top of page

The City of Heidelberg

Why Heidelberg?

This is an important question, but honestly I do not have a perfect answer before having lived there. I knew that Heidelberg is historical, romantic and beautiful, and these qualities were attractive enough for me to choose the city as my destination. Now, I have more answers to list.

  • Heidelberg is a small, safe and welcoming city: I love the size of Heidelberg which is small enough for a stranger like me to navigate easily, but not too small for me to get bored quickly.

  • It is a historical city: Heidelberg is often called one of the most romantic towns in Germany. The colorful buildings, sweet shops, and the Neckar River all contribute to its charm. It is a city situated below the mountains and flanks the river.

  • It is a lively city: Don't get wrong - this historical city is very lively at night! There are lots of bars and they are favorite spots for students in Heidelberg.

  • It is a highly international city: This is probably a pro for people who don't speak German or speak little German to navigate around.

  • It is located in Baden-Württemberg: a convenient starting point for traveling to countries around. From the Heidelberg Hauptbahnhof, you can travel to other parts of Germany or other parts of Europe by train or by bus.

But...

  • The living expense at Heidelberg is pretty high: In fact, it ranks among one of the most expensive cities to live in Germany.

  • Lots of construction going on: While I was here, there were lots of construction in the Altstadt (Old Town), in particular along the Hauptstraße (Main Street). What's most depressing is that I did not even see the gate of the Old Bridge, because it was covered under white cloth due to maintenance.

bottom of page