top of page

Prior to Departure I


Why Germany?

A WESTERN country? A EUROPEAN country?

One thing I learned from my experience abroad so far is that we often have a perception problem, because people differentiate more only when they are more familiar. I sometimes see a Chinese restaurant in the US sell at the same time Japanese Sushi and Korean Bibimbap. This is not just an American thing and it is not just about Asian countries, either. For example, we also often confuse a single country in Africa for the whole continent, and we often generalize Europeans into one group. We create even wider categories, such as the West and the East.

Of course, generalizing is not immoral. But one of my purposes of studying abroad is to find minute differences between cultures and people who fall under greater categories. By keeping this philosophy with me, I think I will be open-minded to discover curiosity and excitement along my way.

Germany is unique

When I attended the pre-departure orientation at UMass, I met and talked with some students from Germany, and I learned that there are many differences between Germany and the US, and I was surprised to find that the Germany way of life is, in many ways, similar to the Chinese way of life. I would like to list some preconceive notions of Germany that help me navigating this host country more easily after my arrival.

  • “Small Talks” are not popular: Unlike in the US, students in Germany tend to talk more about politics and other serious topics. Thus, it is important for me to catch up with daily news both in Germany and abroad, and always be attentive to new things happening around.

  • People care more about private space: When you live in a student dormitory with other students, it is important to lock your door when you leave the room.

  • When you ask "How are you today," people will give sincere answers: People will share with you their sincere feelings or stories, if they see there is a need to do so, rather than simply answer "fine" or "great".

  • Studying at Germany universities requires more self-discipline and time-management ability: When I looked through the course catalogue of Heidelberg University, I noticed that almost every course meets only once a week. That means students have less class hours and more free time. Being able to study on my own and being flexible are two important qualities I have to carry with me.

  • Address your professor with “formal language”: It is unlike in the US where students can address professors by first name. In Germany, students often use “Herr” or “Frau” and the last name when talking to professors. Of course, there might be exceptions, but it is always safe to start with showing respect.

bottom of page