top of page

Prior to Departure II

Preparations - 5 DO'S

It is often said that do not think so much about what is to come that you forget to live in the moment. It also applies to spending a semester or a year in a foreign country, because you are about to meet incredible people, eat unique food, and discover new passions. However, it is important to keep several things in mind and make preparations ahead. I am sure that doing so will add up to the enjoyment of your adventure.

DO plan the traveling from the airport to the university.

  • Heidelberg University is about 1 hour traveling by car or 2 hours traveling by train away from the Frankfurt Airport. Before leaving for Germany, I booked a ticket for the shuttle mini bus run by the company TLS. If you are traveling with heavy luggage and feel exhausted after a long flight, I recommend you this option. There will be a TLS staff to pick you up at the airport and drive you to your specific destination. The price is about € 38, which is a bit higher than traveling by train, but you do not have to transfer between stations.

DO maintain and expand your network at home university

  • One thing I found really rewarding is to stay in contact with other students at my home university who are also exchanged to Europe. Before leaving for Germany, I joined some Facebook/Wechat groups for students studying abroad in Europe for Spring 2018 semester. Doing so can be very HELPFUL, cause you would be able to learn many important things ahead. For example, you would know when the national holidays are, and plan your traveling ahead with CHEAP flights/trains/hotels. You would also be able to hang out with friends you know when you travel to other European countries.

DO keep in mind some important deadlines at home university

  • Heidelberg University operates on a very different academic schedule from my home university. The summer semester at Heidelberg is from mid-April to the end of July. That means when I just start my semester in Heidelberg, my friends back home are about to face their final exams. It is important to routinely check your e-mail and have a copy of the academic calendar at your home university with you, so that you will not miss the deadline for course registration and dorm selection for the next semester

DO plan activities for after your return

  • This applies especially true to me as a rising senior. I have to consider my graduation and plans for after graduation during my stay abroad. It is also help to think in advance about what you may take away from this study abroad experience and apply it to future plans. In addition, it is important to let your academic advisers aware that you are studying abroad and stay in touch with them.

DO pack smart

  • Packing too light or too heavy will cause a lot of unneeded stress. I am not a packing expert myself, but there are several things I suggest you bring with you, because you may need them right away upon your arrival. Definitely bring some cash, an outlet adapter for your laptop, an umbrella, a pair of water-proof walking shoes, and all the necessary documents you need for registration (do not expect to find a printer easily when you first arrive).

bottom of page